About Us


The mission of the Virginia Water Monitoring Council (VWMC) is to promote and facilitate coordination, collaboration, and communication among water monitoring programs throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.


Water resources information of appropriate quantity and quality is available so that the conditions of Virginia’s waters are known and informed decisions can be made on the preservation, protection, and use of the Commonwealth’s waters.


The VWMC seeks to foster cooperation and communication among groups involved in all types of water monitoring activities in Virginia. The VWMC is interested in physical, chemical, and biological monitoring, as well as the evaluation of those factors that affect changes in water quality and quantity. The interests of the VWMC include the full range of aquatic resources – ground and surface waters in freshwater, estuarine, and marine environments – and associated watershed characteristics in Virginia.

The initiative to form the VWMC began in 1999 in response to needs identified and supported by consensus of the water-monitoring community in Virginia. The VWMC was modeled after the national program, the National Water Quality Monitoring Council.


As of 2019, approximately 675 members, belonging to more than 275 different organizations, contribute to the success of the VWMC.  To join the VWMC, send your name, water-monitoring affiliation (if applicable), and contact information (email address, mailing address, and phone number) to vwmc@vt.edu.


Leadership is provided by the VWMC Steering Committee. This committee generates ideas for new program areas, helps implement the VWMC program activities, and provides oversight of the work of ad hoc committees. VWMC members who are interested in serving on the VWMC Steering Committee should contact vwmc@vt.edu.

Current officers include:

  • Co-Chairs – Weedon Cloe, Chesterfield County Department of Environmental Engineering and Chris French, BioClean
  • Vice-chair – Katie Register, Clean Virginia Waterways
  • Secretary – Robin Wilder, Henrico County Department of Public Works

Current Steering Committee members include:

  • Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay (Virginia Office), Liz Chudoba
  • BioClean, Chris French
  • Chesterfield County Department of Environmental Engineering, Weedon Cloe
  • Clean Virginia Waterways, Katie Register
  • County of Henrico Department of Public Works, Robin Wilder
  • Ferrum College, Carolyn Thomas
  • Henricopolis Soil & Water Conservation District, Stacey Heflin
  • University of Mary Washington, Michael Bass
  • U.S. Geological Survey, Virginia Water Science Center, Mark Bennett
  • Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, Stuart Torbeck
  • Virginia Water Resources Research Center, Stephen Schoenholtz

Administrative support is provided by the Virginia Water Resources Research Center.